EST. 2012

Northlake Firearms

Charlotte's Most Affordable FFL Dealer.
Find out how easy it is to setup transfers.

Learn More

About Us

Meet the Owner

As a long time gun enthusiast, and collector I was coming to the end of my career as a police officer when I decided to open Northlake Firearms in 2012. With that being said my goal as a small business has been to focus on customer service and provide the best price that I can. If you have taken the time to read this, I hope you will consider Northlake Firearms for your next purchase or firearm transfer.

–Tim Ramsey, Owner
Northlake Firearms

Our services

What we do

Image Description

Firearms Transfers

Northlake Firearms specializes in firearm (FFL) transfers and is open M-F 10am-6pm to serve you.

Image Description

Ammo Sales

We provide our customers with a wide variety of ammunition in many different calibers and brands.

Image Description

Gun Sales

Our firearms inventory constantly changes, so please contact us to inquire about availability.

FFL Transfers

Step by step

Step 1. Purchase Your Firearm

Read the Frequently Asked Questions section to verify that you have everything needed, and that you know all the gun laws for North Carolina.

Step 2. Fill Out Transfer Form

Get started by filling out the transfer request form below, including all required fields. Please fill in the letters NA if you are unsure about something.

Step 3. Schedule A Time

We will call you to let you know it has arrived and is ready to pick up, and can then schedule a time that works best for you during business hours.

Step 4. Pick It Up

Simply bring your $20 cash per firearm, and complete all your paperwork. Additional details are provided below in Frequently Asked Questions.

Please read the Frequently Asked Questions if this is your first time requesting a firearm transfer from Northlake Firearms. Northlake Firearms does not provide copies of its FFL License to private individuals selling firearms.

Please note: All transfers require a North Carolina Driver’s License; handguns require a NC Permit to Purchase or NC Concealed Carry Permit, and completion of ATF Form 4473.

Required fields are marked with a red asterisk. *   If you are unsure of a field, please write NA in the field.

Northlake Firearms wants to make your firearm transfer as smooth as possible. Most shops require that you come in person to request a firearm transfer. I saw no reason for this additional step costing a person time and money. When your firearm arrives you will receive a phone call to schedule a pick up time that works best for your schedule. At the conclusion of the transfer you will receive a 9x12 packet labeled with the Make, Model, Serial Number and Caliber with all your paperwork for easy filing.

Private Individual Transfers - Cost $30.00 (CASH). This shop requires making an appointment, both parties being at least 21 years of age, and both parties being residents of North Carolina. Both parties would come in together with the firearm unloaded. Copies of each person’s NC driver’s license would be made and the firearm would be logged into the A&D Book. The person receiving the firearm would then fill out ATF Form 4473 and pass a NICS check. Handgun transfers require a NC Handgun Permit to Purchase or hold a NC Concealed Handgun Permit.

Transfer Request Form

Contact us at tim@northlakefirearms.com or give us a call at 704-281-4165

Northlake Firearms has the best (FFL) transfer prices in Charlotte, North Carolina.

Our Reviews

What Our Customers Say

FAQ's

Frequently Asked Questions

We have made a list of some of the most common questions we were asked to help to better clarify everything.
If you have a question about anything, please feel free to call us at 704-281-4165 or email us at tim@northlakefirearms.com.

Northlake Firearms will be closed for all holidays. Listed below are the normal days and hours of operation.
Normal Business Days: Monday - Friday
Normal Business Hours: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
While we proudly accept Visa and MasterCard, we do not accept any other credit cards, and of course cash is always the easiest.
Northlake Firearms only accepts transfers from a licensed FFL holder or dealers. We do not provide copies of our Federal Firearms License (FFL) directly to private individuals. No firearms will be released to anyone other than the person named on the receipt shipped with the firearm. The individual who comes in to fill out the 4473 paperwork for the firearm MUST be the actual purchaser of the firearm.
In North Carolina you need these things: A current, valid NC state issued form of identification such as a valid driver’s license and a Purchase Permit obtained from the Sheriff’s Office in your county of residence or a North Carolina Concealed Carry Handgun permit (CCH).
These are good for the purchase of only one handgun, contact your local Sheriff’s Office (or check their website) for details. Depending on the county in which you live this process (which includes a background check) may take several weeks or more.
To obtain a CCH in North Carolina, you must complete a required 8-hour NC CCH course including a live-fire shooting qualification, complete the CCH application, and have fingerprints taken and recorded at your local Sheriff’s Office. Depending on the county in which you live this process (which also includes a background check) may take several weeks to several months. A current CCH allows the holder to purchase any number of handguns.
A current, valid NC state issued form of identification. No permit is necessary. Complete BATF 4473 form must pass a (NICS) background check at the time of transfer. This is performed after completing the 4473 form.
A current, valid NC state issued form of identification. Be 21 years of age (RECERIVERS MARKED PISTOL REQUIRE A PISTOL PURCHASE PERMIT or NC CCW) complete BATF 4473 form must pass a (NICS) background check at the time of transfer.
Handgun and Long Gun fee $20.00 per firearm(No Sales Tax) Ten Days after notification (phone or email) a $1.00 per day fee will incur for each item stored. When fees exceed the items value it will become the legal property of Northlake Firearms. Items stored beyond 120 Days without proper communication will be designated abandoned and become the legal property of Northlake Firearm without compensation to transferee.
(Any Reason) $50.00 Plus Shipping and insurance including storage fees if any. Payment must be made before the firearm will be returned. Transferee must make all arrangements with the seller.